Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Guest GREENGRASS

Saving files

Recommended Posts

If i reinstall tile proxy then i loss my tp photoreal world contents and cache folders,all my saved flights that i like to fly offline would be lost.Can i rename these folders and replace them into the new installation,i dont want to break any rules so is it allowed ,or can it be done.It does say the photoreal folder cannot be renamed,thanks for help and adviceDON

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Help AVSIM continue to serve you!
Please donate today!

I have copied my service.cache folder to another drive during an uninstall/reinstall, then copied it back. It takes a long time with so many files, but it does work.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I have copied my service.cache folder to another drive during an uninstall/reinstall, then copied it back. It takes a long time with so many files, but it does work.
Thanks for the reply ddrueding,maybe i am wrong but wouldnt the TileProxy photoreal world be cleaned out after a uninstall/reinstall leaving the cache folder files useless,or can that also be copied to another drive.Thanks Don

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think you misunderstand the purpose of the different folders. The service.cache folder contains the files downloaded from the internet service of your choice. The TP photoreal world folder contains the processed images and the bgl files. With the photoreal world folder erased, it does not have to re-download anything, just reprocess it. I would imagine that you could backup that folder as well, but I didn't bother.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I think you misunderstand the purpose of the different folders. The service.cache folder contains the files downloaded from the internet service of your choice. The TP photoreal world folder contains the processed images and the bgl files. With the photoreal world folder erased, it does not have to re-download anything, just reprocess it. I would imagine that you could backup that folder as well, but I didn't bother.
Very helpfull,my thanks DON

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites