Sign in to follow this  

Help with modeling in Gmax

Hi Everyone,I am new to building in Gmax and new to building planes in general. I am working on a Saab 340. It's going alright so far. Currently I am working on the nose and this is where I need a little help...or a tip. I have the right side of the cockpit/nose area looking a lot like a Saab. Are there any tools in Gmax that would allow me to mirror the right side over to the left side so I don't have to physically move each vertex on the left to approximate the same position on the right? Help would be greatly appreciated!Thanks

>Hi Everyone, >>I am new to building in Gmax and new to building planes in >general. I am working on a Saab 340. It's going alright so >far. Currently I am working on the nose and this is where I >need a little help...or a tip. I have the right side of the >cockpit/nose area looking a lot like a Saab. Are there any >tools in Gmax that would allow me to mirror the right side >over to the left side so I don't have to physically move >each vertex on the left to approximate the same position on >the right? Help would be greatly appreciated! 1) Assuming you're using mesh, use Mesh Edit, Vertices sub-object, highlight/select all the relevant vertices.2) Clone those vertices to a new, named part3) Apply a Mirror Modifier to the new part's stack.4) Reselect the original part, Mesh Edit, Vertices sub-object, pick Attach from the rollout.5) Select the new part you just made, then while still in Vertices sub-object mode, select all vertices.6) Weld all vertices in the group, using .001" (or smallest possible unit available) to permanently join the parts in to a whole.There may be other ways to accomplish what you want to do, but that's one of 'em! :)