Sign in to follow this  
Guest JeanLuc_

Internal FS2K2 GPS System: Need Help Understanding

Folks,I am a newbie at this forum and at MS SDK programming for gauges and panels, so please excuse any dumb questions or comments in my ramblings below.I have been wanting to do a small GPS project for FS2K2. I have done serveral projects with FS2K2, using Peter Dowson's FSUIPC, with very good success. All of these projects have been pulling out information from the simulator. Now I want to write some data into the simulation.However, I do not see the right FSUIPC variables to access the internals of the GPS system in the flight sim, so I have resorted to look at the MS SDK's. Is this correct?I have read through the "Building Panels and Gauges" SDK, believe I have a rudimentary understanding of it, but am still confused. See below.I have successfully built and ran the flightmap from the AircraftPanel SDK using VC++6 IDE, which I understand must have the gps_export.dll in the modules directory (is there anyway not to use this DLL?). From sdk.flightmap.c, I see that they use the named variables "FS2002 GPS DATA" (to read information from the GPS) and "FS2002 GPS DATA REQUEST" to update the GPS info.I started modifying the sdk.flightmap.c code to start with something simple, such as clearing a current flightplan (such as from the flight planner dialog box, hitting "CLEAR"). However, my first attempt resulted in FS2K2 crashing.So I wrote a routine to just read the GPS information, and got what it was set to after clearing the flight plan (at Meigs, although I was probably setting on top of a big "X", thanks to Mr. Daly x( ):dwSize = 176dwUpdateRequest = 0vPosition.alt calc = 596.765234 feetvPosition.lat = N 41 51.24 degvPosition.lon = W 87 36.45 degdMagVar = W 0.999756 degdGroundSpeed = 0.000000 knotsdGroundHeading = 356.909996 degdGroundTrack = 357.909751 degbIsFlightPlanAvailable = FALSEbIsActiveWaypoint = FALSEbIsDirectTo = FALSElNextWp = 0vWpNext.alt calc = 0.000000 feetvWp