Sign in to follow this  
Guest airhead

Gmax Patch/Spline modding

Guest odog

FUN WITH SPLINES:Here's an example of modeling in the simplest of terms. Forget all that you know about standard primitives (cylindars, spheres, boxes) By using splines and patches you can achieve accurate results and gain better control over the detail of mesh.In its simplest terms, with spline and patch modeling you create a wire frame and then use patches to create the shape you need. Im not real good with this "how-to" stuff, and I'm still learning about this method, I hope you can follow me. Pics will make this easier.Ill be brief.here's where i am now. I will walk you through the cowl, the fuse and other parts took about 10 total hours. I did not use any standard shapes except the tires. I used the 3 views to make a rough outline of the fuse and tweaked on it for hours till it was just right.http://forums.avsim.net/user_files/53630.jpgI know what your thinking, looks like FS98 stuff... But here's the magic of keeping the editable patch in the modifier stack.http://forums.avsim.net/user_files/53626.jpgBy adjusting the steps i can increase and decrease the poly count of each part. This is handy because, by creating something that is simple and quick you can increase the detail and quality with the click of an arrow. Instead of scaling each row of verts which never gives a good result.how did i get here? SIMPLE... lets look at the cowl firstI make a circle and then turn it into an EDITABLE SPLINE. Now i select spline sub object and select my new circle, when it turns red, were ready to continue.now move the new circle back a few inches, HOLD DOWN THE SHIFT KEY WHILE MOVING IT. You have now created the 2nd piece for the cowl. repeat one more time so it looks like this.http://forums.avsim.net/user_files/53627.jpgThe hardest part to remember is to hold down the SHIFT key while moving so it will create another circle, if you forget it just moves the first circle.I resize the circles and im