Sign in to follow this  
Guest sapper42

FSDS2.24- Making Landable Surfaces

Guest johnyrebbaron

I am new at at scenery design.I have created an object using fsds2.24 that is meant to be an elevated platform to land on. I have followed the help file for FSDS, it has a 2 page tip for doing this but i cant make it work.Has anyone else used this and had the same problem.Thanks

Guest sapper42

Gday mate, i found that the FSDS method of creating a hard surface way unstable at best, especially if you want to start a flight from it.The most stable way ive found using scasm ( means you haveto hand edit the code ) is advanced buildings code.I have however created a small tutorial to create a hard surface that is invisible with XML code at the following links and is ideal for Helipads.http://www.scenery.org/_downloads/helipad_tutorial.zipandhttp://www.scenery.org/_downloads/helipad_tutorial_part2.zipSee if these help you out.rgds Jeff

Guest johnyrebbaron

Hi Jeff,Thanks alot for the tip it sounds easy enough and logical. I have not had time to try it as of yet, but I will soon enough. This stuff is kind of new to me,and I don't have as much time to work on it as I would like. FSDS seems really nice to make objects and aircraft. But that method of creating a landing surface did seem kind of kludgy.Thanks again,GaryI will let you know how it turns out, when I get to try it.The pixs in the tutorial zip file was fantastic

Guest sapper42