Sign in to follow this  
Guest ErikU

Real Pilots - Help deciding on flight schools

Hi fellow Fly!'ers.... I could use a little advice on choosing between an FAA Part 61 or Part 141 school. I posted a question in the Flight School forum at http://forums.avsim.net/dcboard.php?az=sho...sg_id=368&page= I would appreciate any feedback from you guys.Please post in that forum.Thanks.-DK----David KohlFly! II v2.5.240Dell 8200 P4/1.8G, 1024MB RAM, Nvidia GF4 Ti4600 v44.03, WinXP Home Edition SP1.CH Pro Pedals and Yoke USB.

Guest dannol

I'm still a student pilot, although nearly done. My flight school is the 2nd highest rated Cessna training center in the country (McAir Aviation at Jeffco Airport in Colorado). Their program is highly respected, organized, and clearly defined but they are not part 141. In the end, I'm quite glad I chose a part 61 school because of the increased flexibility. Its hard enough to get my training with potential cancellations due to weather. But at least my training program allows me to get in whatever we can on that day. For example, if I was on a part 141 program and at the point in my training where I needed to fly my solo x-country but the weather was not good enough for a solo flight, I could not skip ahead in the training outline for some dual instruction. I've had to do this a couple of times and it has really kept things rolling. I know many of my instructor's students have had to postpone their solos week after week when the weather wasn't just right. I'm interested in a career change to aviation in the future and was concerned that perhaps I needed to have a part 141 education to get respect, but many I've talked to have told me its not that big of a deal. The cost is an important consideration. My biggest decision was whether to do my instruction in old 172 N models, or go for the brand new 172 SPs. In the end, I opted for the newer models and have been grateful for the experience with the latest avionics and have had no cancellations