Sign in to follow this  

N1 Settings

Hey gang,I'm probably opening up another can of worms...but here goes:I've been flying the DC-10 a bit lately, and one of the things that always strikes me is how high most of the N1 settings are for the various stages of flight.For example, for takeoff thrust, the N1 settings go as high as 118% in the really hot and high situations, but even a more "normal" situation can require N1 of 107%. In cruise, if you're in a mid-weight situation, the N1 can range from 95%-104% (This is all taken from performance charts and manuals -- thank you, Matt Zagoren!).Getting around to my main point: I have always been under the impression that N1 numbers were a percentage based on the design speed of that particular stage of the engine (id est, 96% N1 = the first stage of the engine is spinning at 96% of its "designed" full setting.)Now, I'm not an aerospace engineer, and I don't work for General Electric, but I would think that if N1 settings were based of a design rating of 100%, anything over that would not be encouraged for use due to increased wear and tear and the like. I have read before that it's considered "bad practice" to simply push the throttle levers to the firewall on takeoff. Then again, I may be under the misconception that N1 drives the equations for engine performance. Doesn't Boeing often rely upon EPR?Whew! Well, I'll be curious to see what you all have to say. Thanks in advance!Matt