Sign in to follow this  
Guest Calum

Hi , What you need to start a Home Cockpit ?

Guest Calum

Hi all ,I am thinking of starting my own Home Built Cockpit , but i am completely new to it and dont know what i need to start.I have played Flight Sim for a while , but as for actually building a cockpit ... I am not even sure what aircraft to start with.Could anyone please tell me what they think is a good project to start with , what i need , what i should know ...Any links or tips ThanksCalum

Guest PoRrEkE

Absolutely ..We have recently started a Wiki. Specially for guys like you :DBut also for people with a sim in progres.You can find all info you need on http://wiki.varxec.net/FrontPageWe are still adding to this site, so keep this url bookmarked and keep visiting it in the future!As for you stating you don't know what aircraft type to start with ... I got a few suggestions.1) fly different types of aircraft and try to figure out which one is your favorit2) maybe build a generic cockpit (not based on 1 type of AC)3) look around in the urls for commercial sim parts .. you can see what is available and what you can afford which might help you on your way soon.It's all up to you! And if you got question .. this forum is the place to ask ;)Cheers,Philippe Vanagthttp://www.fokker50.be.tf

Guest MikePowell

Welcome to the hobby, Calum.In addition to the growing wiki, take a look at http://www.mikesflightdeck.com/getting_started.htm and at the "how-to" section on flightsim.com. Look in particular for Roland vanRoy's DIY cockpit write up and the series titled "Building Kev's Cockpit".Mikewww.mikesflightdeck.com

Guest Calum

Cool ,thanks all.Calum

Guest Calum

O.K ,I have decided what aircraft i am going to be planning on building ... the A320. I am using both The A320 Project website and MikesFlightDeck website to get help and tips from , but for now ...What is the easiest part of the sim to start planning ? What did you first start planning ? why ?ThanksCalum