Sign in to follow this  
Guest aadoyle

Newbie Switch Wiring Question. ?

Guest aadoyle

Hi,I'm a total newbie at electronics. I would like to know the best way to wire switches. Do you just take bare wire and solder it directly to the switch terminal? Or do you solder it to some type of connector and then just plug it in to the switch? I know all switches are different. But perhaps you could give me some examples of how to wire a switch, i.e. toggle or push button.Also, how would I learn which terminals on the switches should be connected to which wire -- which terminal is ground, live, etc.. Is that shown on a switch?Is there a guide on the web, i havn't been able to find one yet.ThanksAlan

Alan,I would take some isolated cable (do not use bare wire!) and solder it to the switch in one end and an appropriate connector in the other end. This makes for easy maintenance and replacement if necessary.Also would make sure I wire all switches of the same kind in the same way. If the connector has terminals 1, 2 and 3 I would see to that all the respective terminals of, lets say a toggle switches, end at the same connector terminal i.e. common switch terminal always connected to connector terminal 1 and so on.Hope it helps,

Guest aadoyle

What connector? I'm a newbie, and you talk in terms i don't understand. I thought you needed a connector between the wire and the switch, no? How does a newbie figure out which terminal should be connected to which wire?ThanksALan

Guest Binkles