Sign in to follow this  

HELP setting up network (O/T)

Hi all. I am real new to computers and I don't know a thing about networks. I am trying to network two computers one win2000 the other win98. I have installed an adaptor in each PC and linked them to a router. Now I don't know ware to go! How do I set up the network so I can share a broadband internet connection, files and hardware? I have read windows help and the guides here but I still don't know what to do! Could anyone walk through with me how to share files/hardware please? Or have I missed a guide on this site? Thanks Ric

It's probably beyond the scope of this forum to open up such a discussion. I think you'd have better luck in the hardware forum, or better yet in on one of the networking usenet groups. Walking you through all the steps would be a project...I support networks for a living, and used to dread walking techs through the steps who were even more familiar with the process than you are. The short answer--the hookups are the easy part, but configuring 2000 and 98 properly is where you'll have to dig in and learn.My documentation on setting up network architecture is well over 200 pages--and unfortunately is copyrighted by my company as intellectual property, so I can't release it. But scan the groups....you'll find information much better than I can put out for all levels of knowledge....-John