Sign in to follow this  
Johnny767

Overclocking Analogy

Folks,Like many of you, I've been simmming for several years now (since 1998). And, it wasn't until a few months ago that I decided to jump into FSX, build a FSX-capable-computer, and then Overclocked my CPU...And, I may not have much experience or much knowledge as some of you do; however, I believe I have learned a bit more than the basics on building and OC my system. After, I got the basic-intermediate-to-intermediate-advance knowledge on OC, I've been asking myself some questions and I'm wondering what your thoughts are.There are a bunch of programs out there to use as benchmarks to score CPUs and GPU. But, why is FSX used very little to none for testing how well an OC is--even among the aviation enthusiasts ? Let me provide you with my personal experience...I have been experimenting OC my computer and I've been pushing it along the way. (perhaps it may break one of these days, but that's ok; that's not my concern). Along the way, I've come to OC my i7 950 to 4.60 Ghz whenever I test the OC with several stress test programs out there, it crashes in about an hour. However, when I test it with FSX, I can load it heavily (high settings in FSX, and high-end addons such as PMDG, Level D, Wilco. etc.etc.),and fly for hours and hours and it never crashes...I don't think FSX uses 100% of the CPU's capacity, like the stress tests programs do, correct?--- I've read of people stress-testing their system for 24 hours...really? Why ? Why 24 hours?..Do you play your game for 24 hours none-stop? What do you get for stress testing it for so many hours?...Besides a high electric bill ! I know some of you guys have a lot of knowledge and are very technical, but even so...Is it really necessary to stress test your CPU for hours and hours, then you launch FSX and it crashes within 15 minutes?--- Final thoughts: I can imagine stress-testing your computer for hours and hours (possibly even over-night), will certainly bring yo