Sign in to follow this  
RGS

i9-9900K vs i9-9920X; 32 vs 64 GB RAM?

Hi all,

Looking for some advice on a new system and wondering which of the two above processors to build it around.

My primary uses:

• Flight sim (P3D), obviously...
  • Games
  • 3ds Max (primarily model creation, but also rendering)
  • Photoshop

All of the above are of roughly equal importance and are kind of linked, as I'm a developer. In addition, I'd like to add video editing, though that's of less importance right now. I do work with very large files and often have multiple apps open (Max and Photoshop for e.g.).

My intention is to pair the system with an RTX 2080 Ti. Whilst expensive, it does deliver the goods at 4K.

A few further points to bear in mind:

• This is my primary work machine and will see heavy usage for years to come
  • I do not want to have to upgrade the processor/motherboard, but am OK with mid-life GPU + RAM upgrades (but ideally would not want to for at least 3 years)
  • I will not be overclocking
  • I will only ever be running a single graphics card
  • System must be Intel/nVidia and be as future-proof as possible (I tend to stick with a machine for much longer than most, rather than frequent upgrades, beyond the graphics card) 
  • Price differential between the two systems is currently around £700-800, which is considerable (roughly £2,500 vs £3,200 for the entire rig, minus display)

As I understand it the 9900K is faster at 5 GHz vs 4.5, but the 9920X has half as many cores again (12 vs 8) + supports quad channel memory, though not sure how important that is in terms of real world usage however.