Sign in to follow this  
arno

SCENERY DESIGN steps?

I am new to scenery design, but have done a lot of reading on the subject, but have yet to actually get going, which I am about to do. I have elected to use GMAX as the preferred scenery design tool because it seems as though using this will have the least impact on frame rates, provided of course the polygon count is kept in check. (Is there any truth in this assumption?)Since I have zilch experience in FS2002 scenery design, I am rather concerned that I will invest a lot of time in a project, just to find out later that there were alternatives. I suppose this problem goes with the territory at my stage!In a way, it would be helpful if an experienced scenery designer can relate to me the sequence of events in scenery design, say up to the stage when the scenery is compiled or exported to FS2002. For instance would it be better to individually make all the buildings and features separately, then group them together and after that make the runways, taxyways, aprons, etc to fit this group, or is it generally better to first make the runways, aprons and taxyways BEFORE adding buildings or groups of buildings. Is there any advantage to be gained by grouping buildings together (other than when one merges say a group of hangars to save on polygons)