Sign in to follow this  
Guest acristobal

Help for a Begginer

Guest acristobal

I am a beginner with ground2k and I find it very difficult to use.I just want to create a lake with an island in the middle of a photo realistic scenery. I have done the nest steps: To create a lakeI Install ground2k v.4I create a new projectI put a background map (an small version of the photo realistic scenery)I make a new object (polygon) in the Road/River/Lake icon ...New object. Lake with a shoreline, water LC, 921 m altitude, etc.I make the BGL

Hola A...?,Photo-real scenery is not compatible with other types of terrain scenery (except for altitude mesh) - it supersedes and excludes the other. If you have photo-real scenery installed, your new lake will not display at all.It is either one or the other, custom (photo-real) scenery or terrain modifications, not both at the same time. To see your Ground2K4 lake, remove the photo-real scenery.You can create new terrain using Ground2K4, as you know. If you make it sufficiently detailed, it may look very good, but will never look exactly like the real thing. But, give it a try - take out your photo-real scenery and make some detailed terrain using Ground2K4. Best regards.Luis

Guest acristobal

Hola Luis.Gracias por contestar tan r

Guest ScottR

Hi,You can definitely have a "lake" in the middle of photoreal scenery. The easiest way is to use Terrabuilder Lite (free) to create your photoreal scenery. Also create a water mask (as explained in the release notes). The white area of the mask shows your photo real scenery and the black shows water. This technique is also needed to use photoreal scenery around a coast line and show the microsoft sea, but it can also be used to show a lake. The next step is to create a polygon with Ground2k around your lake (at the correct altitude) for the lake to show up flat (use the same bitmap for G2K as for Terrabuilder). Hey presto, you will have a flat lake with "real" water.Regards