Sign in to follow this  

Flying Bell 407 and Fly 2

Hi...I am an experienced helicopter pilot in FS 2002 but it seems unbelievably difficult to fly the Bell 407 in Fly 2. Can anybody assist. ThanksRichard;)

G'day Richard,>Hi...I am an experienced helicopter pilot in FS 2002 but it >seems unbelievably difficult to fly the Bell 407 in Fly 2. Welcome to reality! :-)Whatever lead you to believe flying a helicopter should be easy?Have you downloaded the Bell 407 fix file from the Avsim library? This may help you. Sorry I can't give the link but you shouldn't have too much difficulty finding it.Any further advice is just practise, practise, practise.HELICOPTERS DON'T FLY .... THEY JUST BEAT THE AIR INTO SUBMISSION. :-)Cheers,Roger @YSSY

Guest Lindy

Hi Richard. I don't know what settings you used in FS2K2 to fly your choppers with as you don't mention them. Ironically, when I first tried my hand at helicopter flying, it was with the Fly!2 choppers. No, they aren't easy, but it didn't take me long to get the feel for them. (I had NO virtual, or real, chopper experience at the time.) When I got FS2K2, I eagerly tried its Bell 206 and found it impossible. I flew the Hughes 500D and couldn't get it to go FORWARD -- it kept wanting to fly backwards on liftoff. (I'm sure you can relate. ;-) ) After MUCH practice and HoverSafe lessons, my chopper flying in FS2K2 has improved somewhat.I recently got back into Fly!2 and naturally jumped into a Bell 407. No real problem and I was even able to land them without too much difficulty. So just practice a bit more........ you'll get it.One thing Fly!2 has over FS2K2 with regards to helicopters is that you can configure your settings and controls separately from the fixed wing aircraft. Play with the options settings and think of it as practicing for a checkride in a new aircraft.Good luck.-Lindy :-wave :-rotor