Sign in to follow this  
Guest jsippy

A question for the PC FLYers

Guest jsippy

Hi all,I have plenty of PC experience in general (I was a network consultant in a past life) but I have NO pc experience when it comes to flight sims.So... What do all the PC flyers out there think is the best version of Windows / PC Config for running FlyII, MSFS, and X-Plane?I may be looking into setting up a PC or two for gaming and flightsimming in the near future.Cheers---John R. SippyChicago, IL, USAPowerMacG4 -Dual 5001024MB RAMnVidiaGF2 - 32MB

Hallo John,I do not think there is one specific ,ideal configuration.It totally depends on the amount of money, available for the PC.The PC I use at this moment is three years old and I am thinking of building a new one.Any high performance game-PC-configuration will do.nVidia chipset based videocards give very good results with FLY.RegardsLeen

forumlogopaintmod.png

"Non licet omnibus volare cum aquilis" (Azzurro)

Visit Flybike-Paints

Guest jsippy

Thanks for the reply, Leen.What about Windows? Is there any particular version that is better suited for simming and gaming?I have heard vague rumors of some people not being able to run their games (or hardware drivers) under some versions of Windows.Cheers---John R. SippyChicago, IL, USAPowerMacG4 -Dual 5001024MB RAMnVidiaGF2 - 32MB

Happy New-Year John.I have a Pc with Windows 98 and FLYII wich runs reasonable good.But Windows98 is outdated now ( not supported anymore )My other PC is equipped with XP-Pro and it works absolutely greatwith FLYII and MSFS2004.I heard there are experiments going with these sims running underLinux ( Windows emulated) , my son started FLYII this way but itsjust in a very early state of development.So for now, I suggest , go for XP .RegardsLeen

forumlogopaintmod.png

"Non licet omnibus volare cum aquilis" (Azzurro)

Visit Flybike-Paints

Guest HeliFLYer