Sign in to follow this  
Guest tonyc

Please explain how the two pods interact.....

When I added the ac_defaultFix.pod in the aircraft folder, it clearly added fixes and modifications to the existing aircrafts. Now, can somebody explain to me how does this work as opposed to having to individually modify each specific aircraft pod. For example, if I want to modify a default panel, do I modify the original pod or do I simply create another pod that interacts with the original. Thanks.tony

Help AVSIM continue to serve you!
Please donate today!

G'day Tony,First I must qualify my position. I am NOT a programer ( CEE has always been something I swim in or go fishing in ):-)No one has yet replied so I'll give you my interpretation of what I think goes on. Just what I've picked up doing repaints and cockpit mods.You know that by setting "searchpodfilesfirst=0" you force fly to search sub folders before searching the pods for any given file.So you could if you like simlply place your modified *.pnl file in the DATA folder and presto!; every time you selected the modified aircraft your beaut new panel would display. Repainters do this all the time to check the progress of their work.When you finish a repaint and want to pod up you have to convince fly that this is another aircraft. This is done by grabbing about a dozen files from the original pod, doing a bit of renaming of the files. and podding them up with the new livery file.The podded repaint will NOT work without the original aircraft pod present in the aircraft folder as there are MANY files in the original pod that are shared with the repaint pod.When ( with searchpodfilesfirst=0) fly looks for a file it checks out the subdirectories first and if it isn't found it then searches through ALL the pods until it finds the file. Note: it doesn't go straight to the pod file of the selected aircraft.The order that the pods are searched seems (not certain)to be the order in which the pods appear in the "select aircraft" m