Sign in to follow this  

What a Difference a Gig Makes!

Guest jase439

I just strapped into a Northwood 2.4 after upgrading from a P3-1Ghz machine. What can be said, but "W.O.W.". My Ti4400 has been liberated! The difference is unreal - it's a whole different sim. It's like cutting butter with a hot knife. Even SimFlyers scenery is liquid (how bizarre is that!). So much for the $70 hobby ;-)JNorthwood 2.40B, 533 FSBLeadtek WinFast A250 - Ti4400, nVidia 30.82 WHQL512MB Corsair XMS PC3200, 2-2-2-5SBLive! Gamer/MP3 5.1Windows XP Professional

Agreed...I've been saying this for quite a few months now.Framebuffer is life. There is a good reason for a 128 mb card. And XP knows how to use that extra memory quite well.The sim is so fluid with this type of setup, its like some sort of animation. Duh...guess it is animation, but you know what I mean! :)Oh...and that 533FSB must be pretty cool too!Cheers,bt

Glad to see you're having a brand new experience. I'm running only a P 1.8, 512 Rdram, gf3ti500, but my sim is also rock solid, even in high PAI airports like Heathrow or LA. Int. I have done some minor tweaking, and run with almost everything maxed, but not water textures. I couldn't be more pleased with how it all works.I know some people don't like to tweak, but for most systems like mine or lower, the benefits far outreach the frustration. Before tweaking, I wasn't satisfied with the graphics or framerates. What's great about the gf3's is that they do work well with high end machines and also do respond well to Gforce tweak software. It takes some time, but after a few weeks of messing around (perhaps three or four hours total) I'm where I am today, which is a very satisfied customer.Spruce

Guest 727Fan

Yeah Baby!I use a P4A with 2G new last spring and the difference from the P3 500 was like night and day!Cool CPU, huh!Rick