Sign in to follow this  
Guest Woodman

What is the procedure for flying where there are no controllers?

Guest Woodman

I'm a newb when it comes to Squawkbox/Vatsim flying so I just want to make sure I'm doing a few things right. I did my first flight 'online' yesterday and things went fairly well. One thing I did come across which I imagine will happen alot is large stretches of flying time where there is no 'active' controller around. What should I do here? Last night I just went to the 'default' ATC Directory frequency and typed in my status every once inawhile. Is this correct?Also, using ServInfo to get a list of controllers etc, how do I find out enroute, if there is a controller in the area?? The only thing I could think of was to keep ALT-TAB'ing to ServInfo (pausing the FS!)and doing a check of my current area....then going back to FS and unpausing it. This doesn't seem very efficient to me, and was just wondering if there's something easier or more seamless?Thanks for any and all tips and feedback!Cheers,Jeremy

Guest ielchitz

Hi Jeremy,First of all - Welcome to VATSIM.I know that there it seems like a lot of information to digest - but you can take it one step at a time - and I guarantee you it will be worth it in the long run.If there is no controller, you should announce your intentions over the Unicom (122.800). You don't need to give updated position reports once you are in level flight at an acceptable cruise altitude for your direction of flight.If you are on the ground or starting an approach to an airport - that is a good time to announce your intentions on the unicom frequency - e.g.,

Guest Woodman