Sign in to follow this  
Guest ielchitz

FSBUS Newbie Says Hello!

Guest ielchitz

Hi all,Just wanted to say "Hello World". I'm an electronics newbie from Calgary, Alberta. I've been following the forum here for a LONG time. About 6 months ago I decide I would attempt to jump in to the FSBUS world and see where it takes me.Well life has been busy since the initial reads on how to do this, that, and everything - but I finally have my first two PC Boards (COM and LED) designed, etched, and drilled.I've got the components for FSCOM (though I have to admit I had a lot of trouble translating some of the pieces from the amazing european resources out there) and am about to start soldering them onto the board.The creation of the PCB was an educational experience. Trying to save as much money as possible, I spent a lot of time looking into alternate methods for making a PC Board. Thanks to Mike Evans - I decided to try the Kodak Photo Paper in a laser printer method. First print out didn't come out so well, but my excitement caused a lack of patience and event when the transfer to the board came out only "so-so" I still went ahead with the etching. I felt like a little kid as I sat in my garage wearing old clothes, a mask, goggles, and wearing rubber gloves - as I played with the Ferric Chloride. I wasn't too happy with the end result - and after spending some time trying to determine where I went wrong - it was obvious that the horrible print job on the Kodak paper was to blame (crap in crap out).Not the type to be deterred by a setback, I picked up some more copper board and tried again. This time I spent considerable time cleaning the board before attempting to transfer the design. Probably a smart move. Even smarter was my ability to "pull the plug" before I got to the etching stage. After the transfer was complete it looked horrible - I consulted my recently purchased "Making Printed Circuit Boards" by Jan Axelson (ISBN 0-8306-3951-9) and discovered I had used too much