Sign in to follow this  
Guest SOLO

-Chipset for QX9770-

Guest SOLO

Hi folks,I'm building a new PC, and I had my mobo all picked out, the Asus P5E3 Premium (X48 chipset), and today when I went back to the webpage to buy it, it wasn't there. I called the place and they're not carrying it anymore, and I can't find any other store in Spain that has it. So on looking around, I found out that other chipsets can also support the QX9770, like the X38, p35 and p45. Now, these chipsets officially support a FSB speed of 1333, while the QX9770 needs 1600. Since I'm not too tech savvy, can anybody tell me if these chipsets do in fact support the QX9770? If so, I assume I have to OC the FSB to 1600 MHz, right? Is this easy to do? Can someone recommend a good mobo that can o/c to 1600 and supports DDR3 1600 RAM? Thanks!

Guest Nick_N

Best DDR2http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16813131284Best DDR3 (upgrade to BIOS 0801 which resolves memroy chip noise issues)http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16813131334If you are building a DDR2 system you can not go wrong with the Rampage Formula. Memory for it:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16820146789those will do 5-5-5 1T tRD 6 @ 1066-1090 on the 400 STRAP (1600) so you can run FSB 400 or FSB 450 with the 9770Corsair also makes a good 1066 DDR3 memory which will run the same as Muskin in speed and FAB4 timing but probably wont allow 1T CMD timinghttp://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16820145197In order to run FSB 450 in DDR3 and the 9770 you must be on DDR3 1800 memory so your choices are Corsair or Mushkin in that as wellWhat I posted is what I would personally use if I were going to really make use of that QX processor

Guest SOLO