Sign in to follow this  
STUART_H

Some questions?

Recommended Posts

Unfortunately I have not yet had the time to try TileProxy, but have been following the forum with interest. Before trying TP, could Christian or anyone using the programme clarify some questions for me.1. Once tiles are downloaded from Google or Virtual earth for a given area, do they stay permantantly in the .....World folder and therefore would not download again for a flight over the same area?2. If they are downloaded everytime VP is running, I assume they would overwrite those that would already exist?3. If they are always downloaded, then would it not make sense for VP to clear the cache of tiles downloaded on closing?My main concerns are: a) disk space taken up, and :( resultant slowness of FSX starting over time, due to vast amount of tiles left after downloading.Regards,Stuart

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Help AVSIM continue to serve you!
Please donate today!

Sorry guys, just bumping my original post as no one seems as though they wish to reply. Christian, could you perhaps clarify my queries?Cheers,Stuart

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Disk space used is typically 500MB-2 GB. You can decide to clean up your caches anytime - I provide scripts for cleaning out the BMP tile folder.They are not downloaded always, but cached. You decide when to clean the caches. Re-downloading takes significantly longer than just using whats on your HD.FSX is not really getting much slower, especially since I moved the World folder to outside of the FSX directory hierarchy.Christian

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

"They are not downloaded always, but cached"When the cache folder is erased , the BMP are reloaded ? And what's become the World folder ?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

BMPs are in the "Tileproxy Photoreal World" folderJPGs are in the cache foldersYou can choose to clean out the BMPs only and TileProxy will use the JPGs (if available) to re-create the BMPs.You can choose to clean both folders and TileProxy will have to re-download everything.Christian

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks .If we switch between GE and VE , although BMP already exists for the area , but only JPG in GE cache haved been downloaded , what happends ?If the VE area in a better resolution is , TileProxy will download new tiles and new BMP are builded ?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

after switching services, I recommend cleaning the World folder, unless you fly in an entirely different region.Beta 5 will store metadata with the tiles, so it knows from which service it was downloaded.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this