Sign in to follow this  
mfy1989

Suppress shadow, and seasonal textures.

Firstly would just like to say hello to everyone as this is my first post here :) Been reading the posts here and everyone seems really knowledeable and friendly so hoping someone will know the answer to my questions!My first question is basically I've had some problems with placing trees where there are autogen exclude areas, so I've decided to try making my own trees that don't get excluded. I'm a bit of a newbie and I've just managed to crack the whole transparent texture/alpha channel thing, but have hit another problem - that of shadows! Obviously with a transparent bitmap, the shadow that gets cast is a big rectangular one, rather than the shape of the non-transparent bitmap areas that form the tree. I know it's possible to suppress shadows for just this purpose, but I can't find any info on how to do it anywhere! If anyone can advise on this I'd be hugely grateful! My second question relates to seasonal texturing - autogen trees have four sets of textures that are used for different seasons, and I'm wondering how I can achieve a similar thing for my trees? Is there a good tutorial about designing trees for FS scenery?You can probably guess I've not been in the scenery design circle for very long so please accept my apologies if my questions have been done and overdone before :( Anyway any advice or pointers would be gratefully received, thanks all :)Tim F