Hey all,

I have a quick question. I'm going to upgrade my system and a friend of mine came with a suggestion. I could keep my current i7 920 and OC it to 3.5-4 GHz, or buy the i5 4670k and OC it. The GPU will be a Nvidia GTX 770. Which one would be better for FSX (and the upcoming PMDG 777 with high detail airport sceneries) Please tell me what you would do, and why. Thanks!

Greetings.

I'm no expert on this subject, but I'm looking into building a Haswell i5 4670K myself. I have heard that the Haswell chips are faster than it's predecessor's. So I think you would notice a difference if you can OC it up to around 4.3ghz with the proper cooling and voltage. I have heard nothing but good reviews on the GTX 770, so good choice there. Keep in mind that the PMDG and other addons are going to be hard on the system regardless of what processor and speed you have. This just comes from what other people have been saying. So, if you have the money, I would definetly invest in the i5 4670K or maybe i7 4770K for better cache. Have you read Nick N's Bible on FSX? Google it and alot of your questions will be answered thoroughly. Good luck.

Hey all,

I have a quick question. I'm going to upgrade my system and a friend of mine came with a suggestion. I could keep my current i7 920 and OC it to 3.5-4 GHz, or buy the i5 4670k and OC it. The GPU will be a Nvidia GTX 770. Which one would be better for FSX (and the upcoming PMDG 777 with high detail airport sceneries) Please tell me what you would do, and why. Thanks!

Greetings.

Since you say that you intend to "upgrade" your system I hope that you mean build a new system, since the i5 4670K use a different socket (LGA1150) than the i7 920 (LGA1366). You need a new mobo as well.

Yes I was aware of that. I've decided to build a whole new Haswell system. Thanks for your comment.