Sign in to follow this  
Guest newmav

Gauge Examples?

Guest newmav

Does anyone know where I could get gauge examples that are compiled in the MS Visual Studio 2003 C++ environment? The examples that come with the SDK are makefile projects, and I'm not experienced enough to convert them. Thanks for any help.

Guest Patrick_Waugh

It is not that tough to use the SDK example in the VS environment.While many of us had trouble with VS 2003 back when we first got VS 2003, that was because it was so new to us.Basically, what I recommend is creating a "Gauge Projects" directory under your main VS 2003 projects directory, and then create and put the example SDK source under that in "SDK Demmo" for example.Then, click on "New project" and select a C++ Win32 (not console) project and when you get the dialog, set the project type to dll and check "empty project".By the way, you may just want to download and install the free VS 2005 which is way better. =)Then, you'll want to right click in turn on the header, source, and resoure folders on the solution explorer, and select "add existing item". Add the SDK.h, SDK.c, and SDK.rc respectively.Then, you'll want to make sure that you have the latest "gauge.h", and under your "Gauge Projects" directory create a new directory called "inc" or "include". Put that header or fs9gauge.h (the one by Arne) in that directory, and in the SDK.h file adjust the #include line to:#include "..incgauge.h"or#include "..includefs9gauge.h"you get the idea. This way it is available for all your gauge projects. Then, if you are using VS 2003 you'll need to make sure you are including any necessary libraries for the link. Try compiling it and if you get errors, post them and we can see which ones you are missing. Nice thing about VS 2005 is that they are all included automatically.Father Bill has posted some step by step tutorials over at flightsim.com that you can look at too!Patrick

Guest ziporama