Sign in to follow this  
spotlope

A great big hole in my knowledge

I've been accused of many things, but never of pretending to know something when I don't. So here goes:I'm new to scenery design, but in creating my first scenery for FS2002, I've learned a whole lot about how things go together. I can make 3D objects in Gmax, place them where I want and create textures that are, in my own humble opinion, pretty nice looking. I've even got a method for creating pilot-controlled lighting on my airstrip that seems to work. But there's one aspect to scenery design that has me baffled... ground textures. Or more accurately, how in the world to approach the problem. I've looked into creating ground detailing several ways; using Aiport for Windows to create ground polys, using gmax to do the same, utilizing TMF decals for mesh-clinging textures and using TerraBuilder to just replace the groundwork in my entire scenery.There are drawbacks to the poly method that include having to flatten the ground around them, which seems to be an old-fashioned approach and limits how "real" a Alaskan bush airbase, for instance, can look. But in trying to learn about TMF decals and/or TerraBuilder I keep running into this great, gaping hole in my knowledge. What is a LOD? And how does it relate to my scenery designs? For the life of me I can't find a single source that assumes no knowledge of this issue and explains how it works. I'd be very happy to share any knowledge I have of creating realistic textures or using Gmax in exchange for a simple discussion of terrain LODs and creating photo-realistic terrain textures and groundwork.And please, please don't respond that I should read the FS2000 Terrain SDK documentation. Microsoft has a particular talent when it comes to not being able to express themselves in non-programmer terms. When a designer like myself comes across a document that begins with references to unsigned 16-bit integers and floating point calculations, things go downhill