Sign in to follow this  

Texture size.

My problem is as follows: I used textures 1024x1024 converted to dxt1 and initially all looked OK. However, suddenly some of the users started to have problem with display. The textures were "pinkish" polygons wherever hirez was used. I started playing with FS settings and after switching off "hardware acceleration" box I got what I was looking for . Pink textures all over. The problem though that after switching back to "acceleration on" pink was still there. I could not restore textures untill I resized them to 512x512 and converted them again. That worked. Is there a limit for the textures in FS? And why it worked initially? Ted

Help AVSIM continue to serve you!
Please donate today!

I don't think there is a problem with big textures, we have used 1024x1024 textures without problems.But the pink problems reminds me of something else. I have had that before when I used BMP2000. That sometimes give a pink color in the mipmaps, causing the textures to look pink from a distance (not from very close). This was only visible when the mipmaps where on in FS. Maybe it is something similar to that?Arno

Member Netherlands 2000 Scenery Team[a href=http://home.wanadoo.nl/arno.gerretsen]http://home.wanadoo.nl/arno.gerretsen/banner.jpg[/a]

Yes this is little disturbing: why it works and after a while it doesnt. Perhaps another question: in DXTBmp there are 2 methods of conversion Nvidia method and FS2K method , whats a difference and which one should be used? Also remember some talk about some Nvidia bug, what was all that about? Ted

Yes this is little disturbing: why it works and after a while it doesnt. Perhaps another question: in DXTBmp there are 2 methods of conversion Nvidia method and FS2K method , whats a difference and which one should be used? Also remember some talk about some Nvidia bug, what was all that about? Ted