Sign in to follow this  

Cruise Altitude Fuel Burn at Various Gross Weights

Hi,Does anyone have information/opinion on whether FS2002 adequately accounts for gross weight when calculating fuel burn? In running a flight using a 737-200 from SJC to LAX, I get the following:115,000 lb t/o weight: 4935 lbs used73,000 lb t/o wt: 4554 lbs usedBoth flights used a 35,000 ft cruise altitude @ .76M.It seems to me that the difference should be greater. Is there anything in the aircraft.cfg file I could adjust to fix this, or does it even need fixing?Thank you,Kurt

I am not sure. But unless you are an air/engine file expert if you fix this something else may get screwed in the process. If it bothers you enough I would rather use some well known add-ons that have all these elements right from start. Michael J.

Guest GabrielR

Trying to answer the question: Coudnt agree more with the response, I use also the default, I'm not an expert, but taking a look at some of the figures, and the data from the manufacturers (I spent one week doing that with the 744 and the 734) I can guess that this fuel burn is not completely accurate. I am not trying to put anybody down, I think that MS did a great job, given the circumstances, and you can get an "average" fuel consumption that is close to reality. If you have the time, and given the fact that in the sim you can have ideal conditions, try to have your own figures of fuel usage for every phase of the flight. if you dont have the time, there are some people that have done this and have nice data (check out the pilot's assistant in the partners section in AVSIM) Michal, which add ons do you think are closer to reality? I woul die to try them.

Heard of 767PIC ?? - probably the most "famous" example. Also DF737 by Dreamfleet. There may be others I didn't use however. All above are payware, but then how about Bill Grabowski's ERJ-145 - freeware. Heard good things about Falcon 50 - another probably outstanding freeware.Michael J.