Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Hello community,I've been simming for a few years; built a home cockpit, started a virtual airline, etc ...FINALLY, I've decided to upgrad to a "real" computer. I would like your feedback as to how well this new PC will handle FSX ...

• Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 3GHz 6MB Cache 1333MHz FSB Processor4GB Dual Channel DDR3 MemoryNVIDIA nForce 790i Ultra SLI Motherboard1GB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 280 Graphics Card

BTW - I mainly fly casual scenic flights in GA aircraft and would like it to look "as real as possible". Any suggestions on what to tweak or which sliders to peg at maximum versus which ones to keep at a lower setting?Thanks ...

Help AVSIM continue to serve you!
Please donate today!

Hello community,I've been simming for a few years; built a home cockpit, started a virtual airline, etc ...FINALLY, I've decided to upgrad to a "real" computer. I would like your feedback as to how well this new PC will handle FSX ...
  • Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 3GHz 6MB Cache 1333MHz FSB Processor4GB Dual Channel DDR3 MemoryNVIDIA nForce 790i Ultra SLI Motherboard1GB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 280 Graphics Card

BTW - I mainly fly casual scenic flights in GA aircraft and would like it to look "as real as possible". Any suggestions on what to tweak or which sliders to peg at maximum versus which ones to keep at a lower setting?Thanks ...

Nice looking system but I would highly recommend the 64 bit version of Vista. You'll probably run into memory problems with the 32 bit OS since your video card will take up a huge amount of memory address space. It's hard to judge what tweaks or where your sliders should be placed but I would first go with the default settings Microsoft sets up when you first startup FSX and slowly move the scenery sliders to the right but never max out all of them. You'll still get great graphics and FSX will run smoother. Have fun with your new system!Jim