Sign in to follow this  
Gavin

Great flight!

I just completed a flight from UUEE to LOWW. I truly enjoyed it because it allowed me to discover great freeware scenery and "re-discover" a great panel and plane.I used SHEREMETYEVO AIRPORT (UUEE) MOSCOW version 3 from Gary V. (uuee3.zip) and Project Freeware Scenery Wien-Schwechat, LOWW(pfsloww15.zip). They are great sceneries, with all the important features (for me) and don't kill my framerates. Sorry guys, but I have to say this: For me the important stuff is taxi lines, taxi signs, and gates; not tons of trees, passengers inside the terminal, arrival boards etc that kill framerates. I've been a real life pilot (corporate) for 18 years and don't pay much attention to trees when flying and taxiing in real life. However I recognize the effort made by designers and appreciate their great talent.I also used the PIC 767 panel that I've had since FS2000. I had put it away looking for newer and better, but realized that I couldn't find a better panel with a good compromise between readability, seating position, complexity and realism. I prefer a panel with a smaller overhead that allows me to fly and taxi while the overhead panel is opened. I also don't mind if a few switches have been displaced for ease of use and functionnality. Finally I prefer some compromise in the lay-out to allow a pilot's seating position vs a jump seat position. Again being a real life professional pilot, it is very important to me. We fly looking at the ADI and HSI mainly.The plane I used is the Aeroflot 767-300 from Posky, a great plane. It might not visually be up to the current "superstars", but it's still a nice looking airplane. I use the PIC flight model and a merger aircraft.cfg file I modified myself. The flying is great. The frame rate is great. Again sorry but I have to say it: Although I respect and admire the talent of our plane designers, I usually prefer a model without all the visual eye candy that kills framerate. I don't go runn