Sign in to follow this  
ohsirus

Starting my Flight training in 2 weeks

Finally got the nerve up to start working on my PPL and when I went to sign up, one of the ole Aviators said I could come in and use the SImulator for a discount and I said sure, didn't really look at what gear/setup they had I just assumed it was an older version of X-plane. One of the things he did say was to him the simulator was way harder than flying a real plane. Which got me to thinking on the big debate between MSFS and XP's flight dynamics. Needless to say I'm no expert in either and I hope when I finish my first trainnig flight I will be able to say at least GA-wise which felt the closet. Been practicing SIM-wise in a Piper PA28s as I think I'm going to be using something similar. Honestly though I hope it's not as hard as XPX, even though I can get the job done its way more of a workout than the MSFS fly and forget.

As far as flying and control, real world flying is much easier than simulation. The difference, when you are a thousand feet of the ground, you are aware, "I don't want to be sloppy", there is no reset button here. :smile:

When you come in or a landing, the first time, you are doubly aware, but the difference I think, is just getting the confidence that you can do it.

Been practicing SIM-wise in a Piper PA28s as I think I'm going to be using something similar. Honestly though I hope it's not as hard as XPX, even though I can get the job done its way more of a workout than the MSFS fly and forget.