Sign in to follow this  
zmak

Standard photo scenery .no water

Hi all. Im new to this but really enjoying the creative side of FSX. 

Recently i was able to create Photo scenery for the island of Nauru using watermask and blend mask, Sbuilderx and Gimp.

My question is whats the procedure for photo scenery that has no water? lets say I want to create a country town about the same size as Nauru. Do I use just blend mask only to blend it into FSX default?

thanks in advance

ZORAN

yes, that and night textures/seasons if you want to spend the time. It's all in how you word the .INF file

Best, Michael

KDFW

Got it, so  I need to create a water mask as well but just leave it blank.

Another question, how do I make 2 sets of sceneries for the one island?

eg st Maarten is to big for Sbuilderx To capture.

ZORAN

Why on earth would you make a water mask, where it wouldn't be needed? Does that really make any sense?

You don't need a blend mask either, unless you do not want to see a square/rectangular blob of photo scenery inside the game. The blend mask's purpose is to tailor the display of the area in a non squarish/rectangular manner.

Don't over-think the process. It only makes things more difficult.

If one source image won't cover the area, use more than one. See how simple that is? The SDKs cover how to use a multi source INF file to create a BGL file. There's even a sample multi-channel, multi-source INF file provided for reference.

Why on earth would you make a water mask, where it wouldn't be needed? Does that really make any sense?

You don't need a blend mask either, unless you do not want to see a square/rectangular blob of photo scenery inside the game. The blend mask's purpose is to tailor the display of the area in a non squarish/rectangular manner.

Don't over-think the process. It only makes things more difficult.