Sign in to follow this  
LevelMind

Start-up clearance

Hi,

At some airports that have a specific Delivery frequency, I've heard it common to just request the IFR clearance to you destination. And in that case, ATC might sometimes answer with start-up approved, and as far as I'm aware that only means that they have opened the flightplane, and not actually that you can start the Engines?

But at some smaller Airports with no DLV frequency, it seems common to just request start-up and the clearance in the same call - and as a respone to that ATC will give you the start-up clearance, but in this case does it mean that you can start the Engines since you started of by asking for start-up?

If that is the case what is the difference, and why does some Airport prefer if you directly ask for start-up clearance, instead of start by just requesting the clearance, or is it the same thing?

Help AVSIM continue to serve you!
Please donate today!

I'm a pilot and no expert in ATC procedures but from what I can gather...

In Europe, startup clearance is ATC's way of telling you that the airways system is ready for you, in many cases it does mean you can start up but this is academic for airliners that normally start on the push (so they'll need push clearance as well which is dependant on a whole load of other things). In some places where you don't push, clearance to start is exactly that, Milan Linate springs to mind. When I was training we'd ask an airways controller for start, start the engines then talk to the airport for taxi and take off and then talk to the airways guy again in the air for clearance into controlled airspace, I've never done this commercially though.