Sign in to follow this  
jdhaenens

Static Aircraft Scenery

Hello,So, I'm using FSDS3 and I thought I'd try to take their sample F18 and make it static to put on some aircraft carriers. I'm new at this, so may be I don't have all the steps down.1) open the model2) removed all lights, preprocessing, animation keyframes3) removed extra geometry like pilot.4) saved it as scenery mdl.5) modified the sample xml with my coordinates6) compile the xml using BGLCOMP.7) put the BGL in a scenery folder and the textures in the textures folder.8) started FS2004, select flight, and it crashes trying to load the scenery.Would appreciate someone letting me know what I missed. Or can I not do this?Thanks in advance.

Help AVSIM continue to serve you!
Please donate today!

Hi,All your steps look OK, so that should not be the problem.I tried it myself with the F18 sample file, but I could not get the XML file to compile properly (the MDL created seems invalid, according to the error message). Are you sure that you did not get such errors as well? An invalid BGL file can easily crash FS.