Sign in to follow this  
Bina

NEWBIE: Airport Design Questions

Hi all,I am a newbie to scenery design. I'm trying to create from scratch both AFCADs and possibly sceneries for my native airfields in Azerbaijan which are poorly represented in FS9. I would be gratiful if someone could answer a couple of questions on airport design:1. How can I change ICAO codes of any default airport so that I DON'T modify the default *.bgl files in "scenery/world/asia/scenery" folder. Is this possible to give an override command to FS engine like that given thru AF2-XXXX.bgl files? Eg.: ICAO code for my native airfield Nakhichevan Intl. (Nakhichevan, Azerbaijan) is UBBN while the FS2004-assigned code is UB0F (0 - zero).2. AFCAD Manager (the only one from Lee :) asks for Lat and Lon coordinates of runway centerlines. I find it very difficult to assign proper coordinates using AFCAD Manager only. Is there any tool or recommendation to easily calculate/identify the RWY centerline coords? As a workaround, I usually use AFCAD Manager's marker guidelines plus a Lat/Lon-Distance conversion tool and then move (by hand) the runway centerline as close to the ARP as possible to get approximate coordinates for the rwy centerline. But I understand this method may seem very primitive to AFCAD professionals and thus am seeking for your advice.3. The airport reference point (ARP) indicated on the relative chart for Nakhichevan Intl. airport is 39 11 19.70N 045 27 30.39E (exactly as shown here!). Which type (format) of coordinates should I use in AFCAD Manager's Options dialogue to match those indicated in published official charts? Because neither of Lee's formats does match the published coordinates. 4. How can I view the contents of APXXXXXX.bgl files? Recently, after putting my new AF2-UB0F.bgl file into Addon/scenery folder I have deleted the corresponding APXXXXXX.bgl file from "scenery/world/asia/scenery" folder thinking that this way I can get rid of the default airport layout. However, lat