Sign in to follow this  
Guest hoohah

The BIG question...

Guest hoohah

Hello All,The recent discussion(s) about copyrighted resources for FU as well as it's age/problems got me wondering about whether we (meaning the FU community) could possibly lobby EA to release the source code/resource base for FU3/2 under special license (where no one could make any money from it I presume).I am a professional software developer and I know how tight a grip companies can have on assets (no matter how outdated and unprofitable). But it seems as though we could turn FU into a sort of "Open Source" product where we would be able to update the graphics engine, fix some bug/features, etc. And then drive (fly) FU into the future...What would be the interest in this group? Or has it been tried already? I look forward to your comments.-hoo

We all like make changes in FU 3 & everyone is interested in it.B.Adamski

I have been told that there are currently legal issues preventing the release of FU3 on a budget label. This indicates that EA would LIKE to re-release it, and therefore are unlikely to let go of the source code anytime soon. However, I would like to know what exactly the problems are regarding this issue.In short, if anyone from either Electronic Arts or Looking Glass Studios is reading this, then SORT YOUR DIFFERENCES OUT !!!! The sooner that FU3 is re-released on a budget label, the happier we will all be. After all, I've only got two copies, so I could do with a few more :-lolBest Wishes,Chris Low,ENGLAND.

Christopher Low

UK2000 Beta Tester

FSBetaTesters3.png

Guest Motormouse

Chris, I would GUESS that the 'legal issue' concerns MONEY,either owing to LGS or its creditors when EA closed shop,its probably the only thing likely to stop any 'budget' release,EA wouldn't want to publish it then not get any income from it now, would they?:-wavePete

Guest jonpoint