Sign in to follow this  
martinlest2

Absolute Newbie. Installation question

Hi. I have been looking at X-Plane (with fascination) for literally no more than an hour (downloading the v.9 demo as I write this), so really could not be more of a newbie to it.Before I go any further (and judging from some great screenshots I have seen so far, I may very well do so) I have a few questions re. installation etc. I have a fairly 'mature' installation of FS9, which with all my addon scenery, a/c etc. takes up some 80GBs of space (inc. a full set, some 25GBs, of FSGenesis mesh). I can perhaps spare another 70-80GBs on my hard drive for X-Plane. Will that amount of space be enough - I mean 'future proof' enough, for stuff I will want to add on after installing from the DVD, or is 80GBs max going to limit me?If the DVD installs some 60 GBs of files, how many DVDs does one get when buying the programme then? How come it's such a big install compared to MSFS?What about terrain mesh in X-plane? Does that come as part of the initial installation?And last (for now!) but not least, I've been quite a 'serious' MSFS simmer for some years now, creating/editing sceneries etc., and feel pretty comfortable with 'hacking' files to my heart's content. To what extent am I going to start right at the bottom of a steep learning curve with X-Plane in this regard? For instance - repainting a/c or making 'AFCADs', or whatever their X-Plane equivalent might be?Many thanks,Martin