Sign in to follow this  
fly_ebos

FMC - insufficient fuel error

Hello,I'm a newbie to the PMDG 737, bought it this weekend and I'm totally excited by it ! ;-)After some short-haul en long-haul flight there's 1 thing that I've noticed and that is an error in the FMC fuel calculation :This morning I flew KPHX-KBOS with the 737-700, full fuell. During climb the FMC told me to expect 22 000 lbs of fuel left in KBOS. The moment when I am leveling of and going into cruise the FMC tells me there will be insufficient fuel. Once passed the TOD the FMC 'updates' itself and predicts 21 200 lbs of fuell to remain (sounds logic considering wind aloft).--> Some rough analysis led me to the conclusion that in the cruise portion of the flight, the FMC does not take the center tank into consideration.Next flight was a transatlantic one : KBOS-EBOS; again with full fuel. Again during climb it project 11 000 lbs left in EBOS, once in cruise insufficient fuell. But once there was only 1000 lbs left in the center tank, the FMC updated itself and was correct again.Now it seems to me there is something wrong in the FMC logic ? Or am I doing something wrong here ?BTW in both flights the reserve was set at 4000 lbs.Regards,Thomas Billiouw

Guest jase439

If the FMC is predicting 21,200 lbs of fuel to reach your destination, and you have specified 4,000 in reserve (which is fuel for getting you to your alternate, delay holds, unexpected deviations from the flight plan, etc) - you should have loaded out with 25,200 lbs of fuel.The FMC is warning you that based on your fuel load out, if everything goes perfectly, you will be dipping into your reserves. If everything goes badly, you will not have the 4,000 pounds of fuel you need and you will run out of fuel and fall to the ground in a smokey heap of ash and rubble :)Cheers,J