Sign in to follow this  
Guest zsoltszivak744

"Overspeed Disconnect "Issue???

Guest zsoltszivak744

Hey, just wondering if someone could help me on this. I am quite new to the 737NG which will most likely explain my ignorance but I cant figure out why I keep getting this FMC message. Flew from EHAM to EDDM and tried to descend via LNAV/VNAV. VNAV kept disengaging and LV CHG kept activating over and over again although I was on the correct descent path and as far as I could tell my speed was close to the calculated FMC value. Ended up high on the approach onto 26L and had to abort, grrrrrrrrrrr!!!Thanks for any info Regards: Zsolt

The error message indicates that although you believe you were close to the FMC value, in fact you speed was higher than the descent speed (as shown on the descent page) by more than a few knots. It will usually ask for spoilers before switching to LVL CHG, so I suspect something is going on besides what can be discerned from your brief explanation. Some things to check: Give the FMC forecast winds for the descent, use wind smoothing available (FSUIPC or Active Sky if using that), keep an eye on your indicated airspeed and control it before it exceeds the bug.Also, I generaly do not use VNAV for descent and prefer instead to use either LVL CHG or V/S as appropriate. The 737NG programming has some known bugs in the VNAV, which everyone expects to be resolved when 737NGX comes out (whenever that is). This is not unrealistic, since most the time in the real world your descent is controlled by ATC and not the computer, at least below 23000 in the US.

Dan Downs KCRP