Sign in to follow this  
htfc

B29 Nosewheel Steer Problem

I have Tom Kohler's B29 Superfortress base pack and have found that the only way to steer on the ground is to use differential main gear braking. The nose wheel does not steer at all. :( :( Am I missing something obvious?Season's greetings to all from the UK :(

I have Tom Kohler's B29 Superfortress base pack and have found that the only way to steer on the ground is to use differential main gear braking. The nose wheel does not steer at all. :( :( Am I missing something obvious?Season's greetings to all from the UK :(
I just installed the package and have the same problem. Nothing in the documentation that I could see addresses the issue. B) Perhaps an e-mail to the author would be in order.

I have tweaked the .cfg file and got the nose gear to steer :( I am no IT expert, but this fix worked for me anyway.I'm assuming that anybody trying this is as untechnical as I am - so copy the .cfg file first just in case things get screwed up'Open up your .cfg file and scroll about halfway down to :'free wheeling 'cart wheel type nose wheel!Delete the next 2 lines [ starting at point.o and finishing at 186].Now cut and paste the 2 lines immediately below 'steerable' nose wheel [ also starting at point.o and finishing at 186 ] to where you deleted the other 2 lines, and then save changes.Make sure Autorudder is on.She should now steer nicely.Anybody not wishing to mess with the file should find that using the F11 and F12 keys as ' differential braking' will also do the job. :(