Sign in to follow this  
Flaps30

Just Started with XP9.31

I am new to the X-Plane being a MSFS user for years. I decided to try it out but I am surprised that with my new system, it performs about the same as FSX does for me. In FSX I have most sliders turned up pretty well, and most features enabled. I also have lots of realistic ai aircraft with the correct airlines (ultimate traffic) and a realistic weather addon. I average about 20-30 fps. In XP9.31 I thought I'd be fine. On first startup it showed 60+ fps! Once in the air though I got a warning that my settings were too high and that I would have to deal with fog to keep my fps up. This is with only 1 aircraft selected (me) and most other rendering options at default or medium. Personally, things look kind of boring, especially at airports. I averaged 20-30 fps at my hometown airport (KAVP) and there isn't even a terminal! (I was surprised that XP doesn't have any airport buildings from what I could see). Any ideas how I can tweak this thing for better enjoyment? I've seen some great addons in the XP9 demos that I hoped to eventually get, thinking I wouldn't have to worry about performance. Here are my specs: Thanks . Regards, TomGateway FX6800-01e with Vista HP2 64 bit, Intel core i7 cpu 920@ 2.67 ghz., 3 gb DDR3 memory, ATI Radeon HD 4800 series video.

Any ideas how I can tweak this thing for better enjoyment? I've seen some great addons in the XP9 demos that I hoped to eventually get, thinking I wouldn't have to worry about performance. Here are my specs: Thanks . Regards, TomGateway FX6800-01e with Vista HP2 64 bit, Intel core i7 cpu 920@ 2.67 ghz., 3 gb DDR3 memory, ATI Radeon HD 4800 series video.