Jump to content

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

thomamaxi

TileProxy Photoreal World - Should I flush it?

Recommended Posts

Hello,I have been noticing that my TileProxy Photoreal World folder is increasing to a large size (over 40GB)! Is there any benefit in keeping it this large or should I flush it?Thank you for your time.Paul

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Hello,I have been noticing that my TileProxy Photoreal World folder is increasing to a large size (over 40GB)! Is there any benefit in keeping it this large or should I flush it?Thank you for your time.Paul
That can be a difficult question to answer...If you like what you see, then keep what you made... you spent many many hours making it.If you have some areas that you aren't happy about or are just not sure about, then flush just those portions. It's more important to keep the cached imagery - with this still on the HDD, you can make the scenery again without the download time.The most important fact to know is this: if you use the "flush scenery folders" utility you WILL delete EVERYTHING that you made - good and bad. The utility is a simple DOS batch file that sequentially addresses every folder and deletes all the bitmaps that it made for you. It does not delete the controlling BGL files so you can remake everything/anything you want.You can delete specific areas manually so that you control what is deleted if you know the areas that you no longer want. I'll be happy to go into that more-involved description with you by PM, email, TS, or skype; just let me know.Loyd

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
That can be a difficult question to answer...If you like what you see, then keep what you made... you spent many many hours making it.If you have some areas that you aren't happy about or are just not sure about, then flush just those portions. It's more important to keep the cached imagery - with this still on the HDD, you can make the scenery again without the download time.The most important fact to know is this: if you use the "flush scenery folders" utility you WILL delete EVERYTHING that you made - good and bad. The utility is a simple DOS batch file that sequentially addresses every folder and deletes all the bitmaps that it made for you. It does not delete the controlling BGL files so you can remake everything/anything you want.You can delete specific areas manually so that you control what is deleted if you know the areas that you no longer want. I'll be happy to go into that more-involved description with you by PM, email, TS, or skype; just let me know.Loyd
Hi Loyd,What a nice response and thank you for your time! I will be honest with you. I am not IT literate. I thought I might be going a little over my head when I used the word (flush)! I didn't really know what I was talking about but I just took a stab at it and got it right (my conjecture).If you have some time I would like to chat to you on Skype but honestly, I'll understand if you don't have the time.Regards,Paul

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There is a utility called dtdelete.exe that will delete files based on number of days old as well as wildcards like *.txt.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

×
×
  • Create New...