Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

red259

Where should I go from here in terms of add ons

Hi all,

I'm still very new to fsx and I am making a real attempt to learn as much as possible. I have fsx gold (with acceleration). I spend almost all my time flying jets. My primary plane is the pmdg 737 ngx (and I intend to pick up the pmdg 777 when it comes out). For addons I have Rex plus with OD, flytampa Montral airport, aerosoft JFK airport, fs2crew, gsx (and aes for montreal) and UT2. I have also downloaded something like esmb to help with night lighting and an external frame rate controller.

I am considering at some point to pick up Opusfsx (also looking at active sky 2012) for the weather generation and run it using the rex textures. I do not have ezdok camera and was wondering if the opus cameras would remove any need for ezdok?

For flight planning I have been generating flight plans using flightsim commander (trial version) and then putting them into simroutes.com to generate a pmdg flight plan. I get to the destination airport ok, but I am having a heck of a time trying to setup my landings. I think the issue I am having is that when I select a STAR I am having a real problem getting the alt down in time to make the landing etc. Its been very frustrating and FSC is a bit difficult to use.

I saw a video on AivlaSoft EFB which looked really really useful. I was thinking of running it on my laptop and network it to my main computer as the taxi map looks awesome and I see it does have a flight planner utility in it. My flights would be IFR so I have been considering VOX for ATC. I considered pro-atc, but it seems like there is a general notion that while it has a lot of potential it is still developing and its not clear when it will be up to par. I would like to be able to submit my ifr flight plans to the atc and get guidance.