Sign in to follow this  
ronzie

KDFW OR KORD Realistic AFCADS

Guest jwhak1

Hello, Fellow pilots.. Anyone know where I can find some real or close to real AFCADS for Dallas Intl. Or Chicago O Hare.I am using Ultimate Traffic 2004.P.S. I have a good Idea where to get them but any suggestions Thanks. Josh

Not sure what you mean by "real". You can get some very good AFCAD's from Project AI. They are "real" in the sense that gate assignments are properly laid out. You mention using UT; I do also. The other option for some AFCADs at Project AI are those that incorporate the crossing runways trick; both are available for DFW and ORD. While this workaround to FS's very poor way of spawning AI flights will help with traffic flow at the large airports, it is not in any sense realistic. I've been using such AFACDs for about 3 months now for DFW, ORD, DEN and I think I'm about to switch back to regular AFCADs. While I am able to takeoff with a reasonable wait, I could do the same by scaling back the traffic level to about 80% and have the traffic use the appropriate runways for the wind direction. When the wind is 340@12 and the traffic is landing every which way it takes away from any sense of realism. Hopefully either the new version of Radar Contact will help, or just wait for MS to fix it in the next release. Mike