Sign in to follow this  
clearwater

Issues with GNS 430/530

I just purchased the GNS 430/530 and when I launched Prepar3d v2.5 it appears in the aircraft and everything seems to work except the navigation map. GPS way-points are very dark blue and very hard to read because they match  the same color water blue with a black background. Also I can not see other airports, VORS, or any navigational aid more than 20nm away and I cannot see any airspace boundary lines. The navigation top down map is pretty much unusable in RNAV approaches. I use the 430 in real world flying, but I am no expert on the GPS. After $90 of product purchasing cost I am very disappoint as the functionality seems to be worse than the default GPS. Any help would be greatly appreciated. 

Help AVSIM continue to serve you!
Please donate today!

Per forum rules you must sign your name to all posts.

GPS way-points are very dark blue and very hard to read because they match the same color water blue with a black background.

I'm uncertain what you're referring to here. What are "GPS way-points"? Flight plan waypoints are depicted by lines... gray/white/magenta. I don't know what a "GPS way-point" is, to be honest.

Also I can not see other airports, VORS, or any navigational aid more than 20nm away and I cannot see any airspace boundary lines.

This is correct behavior unless one changes the declutter settings which we have not provided the ability to do so at this time as it isn't something covered in flight training. We selected a range setting based on typical flight school needs. I am assuming you are saying you see no airspace boundaries beyond 20nm as well as I can see boundaries when range is below 30nm.

The navigation top down map is pretty much unusable in RNAV approaches.

I can't possibly imagine why. Feel free to elaborate.