Sign in to follow this  
Gabi B

FPS on P3D v3 - Strange Behavior

Hi to everyone,

It's my first post here because you guys solved me the other problem that I had, so, for that, a big thank you. 

But now I've encountered a problem that no one seems to have, and I'm recurring to you for help.

I'm running P3D Pro Plus v3.3.5, on my laptop, a Dell Inspiron 7559. I know that Desktop PCs are better, but I'm also a University Student and I needed a laptop, so I decided to buy one to play P3D on medium settings. My specs are:

i7-6800HQ - 2.6 - 3.2 Ghz

GTX960M - 4GB DDR5

16GB RAM

P3D on a SSD

4K monitor (15.6'')

The thing is, if I run it fullscreen (either completely fullscreen or "windowed fullscreen") I get around 20-25 FPS on the Aerosoft Airbus, in a payware scenery (e.g. JustSim Linz), with broken clouds and REX4; at 4K resolution. But, if I go into windowed mode and shrink the window about 20%, I get like 30-40 FPS. I thought that it was the result of the "lower resolution" that now I was having on my screen, so I decided to change it to 1920x1080 to prove my point. I did that but nothing changed, the figures were the same. I even plugged an external 1080p TV to see if maybe the downscaling was causing this issue, but to no avail. Exactly the same as above. I'm really confused. 

If someone need some screenshots or files to see what may be wrong, just ask, I'll be in the library with my PC studying  :Cuppa:

Thanks in advance, and a special thanks to the admins of AVSIM for keeping this FS knowledge database alive.

Gabriel Barresi

I thought that it was the result of the "lower resolution" that now I was having on my screen, so I decided to change it to 1920x1080 to prove my point. I did that but nothing changed, the figures were the same. I even plugged an external 1080p TV to see if maybe the downscaling was causing this issue, but to no avail. Exactly the same as above. I'm really confused.

Yes, does sound a bit contrary.