I'll start by emphasizing that I am not tech savvy.  My question is what specification(s) should I be seeking in sourcing a ~43" 4k tv to use as a monitor for FSX and/or P3d?   What specs should I avoid?

My current system specs are:

- (CPU) intel i5 - 2500k (OC at ~4,4GHz)

- (GPU) MSI Geforce GTX 1060 (3gb)

- (RAM) G.Skill Ripjaws X (2x4GB)

- (Monitors):  I currently run two of:  Asus VH238H 23".  My intent would be to either add a third monitor  OR  replace with all with the 4k TV

OTHER:

- Various Saitek devices (yoke and quadrant; pedals; trim wheel;  8 of PIDs; 2 of radios; 1 of multi-panel; switch panel).

Thanks folks,

Brian

Vancouver, BC

Go to Bestbuy in Vancouver and get the Vizio 50" 4K TV!  You wont regret it! I have this TV and its a great PC monitor! Best purchase I made. And 50" is small! Now I wish I went even bigger! This TV has PC mode and runs at 30Hrz and thats what you want. 

http://www.bestbuy.ca/en-ca/product/vizio-vizio-50-4k-uhd-led-smart-tv-d50u-d1-d50u-d1/10416749.aspx?

My setup. Thats a 27" Monitor next to my 50" TV.

image1_zpsmnfdbzkq.jpg

Pete Richards

Aussie born, Sydney (YSSY) living in Whitehorse, Yukon (CYXY)

Windows 11 Pro loaded on a Sabrent 1TB Rocket Nvme PCIe 4.0, Ryzen 9 7950x3d, MSI X670-Pro Wifi Motherboard, MSI RTX 4070 Ti Ventus 3X 12G OC, 64GB DDR5-6000 C30 Corsair Vengeance, 2x 1TB Samsung 960 Pro NVMe for MSFS2020, 4TB Seagate BarraCuda HD, Corsair RMx 1000W PSU, NZXT Kraken X63 280mm AIO, Phanteks P600S Case.

Hello Pete,

Thank you for your response.  Any practical advice is appreciated.  

Am I correct in understanding the the one "spec" element I need to assume for a 4k TV is that it runs at 30Hz?

Also, any chance you know how to compare the relative GPU workload(s) for three (3) 24" 1080p monitors versus a 50" 4K (30 Hz) TV?

Regards,

Brian

I have a 3 monitor setup and cannot wait to get a 4k TV to get rid of the bezels and also to increase my vertical display area.