Sign in to follow this  
John_Cillis

Some advice

I did not know where to put this, but I thought I'd put it here and let the Mods decide where to put the post.  From time to time my clumsy fingers will mistype a url, and today for the first time in a while I did so.  I was immediately hit with a pop-up on a ransomware site that I could only get out of by shutting down Firefox.  But Firefox's Session Restore brought me right back to the site and it rendered Firefox usless until I was finally offered a dialog to not restore my session.

As a former WAN admin I highly recommend that Firefox Users disable session restore.  It cannot be done thru the standard firefox Options or Security Options.  It must be done thru About:config typed from the URL bar.  The steps are as follows:

1. Launch Firefox.

2. Type about:config in the address bar and press enter.

3. Accept the warning (This might void your warranty..) and proceed to the next page (click I’ll be careful, I promise!)..

This might void your warranty

4. Type “browser.sessionstore” in the Filter and look for the entry “browser.sessionstore.resume_from_crash”.

session restore firefox settings

5. By default, the boolean value will be “true”. Right-click on the entry and choose “Toggle” to set the value to “false”. Close and restart the Firefox.

Browser session restore settings in firefox

John, I used to have Firefox, but couple of years ago switched to Bitdefender. Works better for me!

• Like 1

14 minutes ago, lennie said:

John, I used to have Firefox, but couple of years ago switched to Bitdefender. Works better for me!