Sign in to follow this  
Guest GREENGRASS

FREE New Addon: FSX Google Earth Flight Recorder

Guest MikeWilson

Dear Fellow FSX Flight Simmers,Quick intro as I know my posts count isn't particularly high... :)My name is Mike Wilson, I worked as a developer with Chris Norris and Peter Wilding on their rather excellent Flight Environment X (FEX) package, released last week.Since FEX was released, my coding fingers have been getting a little itchy, so I've written a neat little application which will allow you, the player to record your flight path into Google Earth. I have attached a sample saved flight recording file to this forum post.:D Best of all, it's FREE :DYou can download your copy of FSX GE Flight Recorder 1.0 from: www.evolvedsoftwarestudios.com/products_fsxgefr.htmlI hope you like it. I'm new to these forums, so please be gentle with me!Warm Regards,Mike Wilsonp.s. I would be very interested to receive screenshots and saved flight recordings from other forum users so that I can include them on the product website and release them with the software (all credit will be given to the author of any screenshots or flight recordings).

Guest MikeWilson

Thanks :)Hope you enjoy it - I've just noticed one quick thing. Within the settings, the default sensitivity on the slider should be right up to maximum. There is no FPS hit, but it does make the resulting file a bit bigger.I'll make the fix to the settings and put a new version up right away. Then it's off to bed cos it's 4am here in the UK :@)Warm Regards,Mike Wilson

Guest MikeWilson

WOW, that's pretty cool :)I have just released a software update to version 1.1 to fix the sensitivity, the line should be 59 times more detailed for you now.I am absolutely jaw-to-the-floor over your images though. That's not flight sim, is it? Those pictures are spectactular - even better than the real life Google Earth textures ;)

Guest MikeWilson