Sign in to follow this  
brynjames

blurry ti 4400

Recommended Posts

HI can someone please help me? msf2002 looks very blurry. my system:amd xp 2000+msi geforce 4 ti4400 27.50 driver512 mb ddr 333windows xpin fs2002 everything to the max and i did nothing with the videocard drivers.please help?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Help AVSIM continue to serve you!
Please donate today!

Have you tweaked the FS2002.cfg file?Also, use RivaTuner to select anisotropic level 4 and LOD BIAS to -0.5.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Try turning off mip mapping. Also, you may want to try newer drivers for your ti4400. I'm using the latest beta drivers from www.guru3d.com. Good resource.Hope this helps,Good luckPete

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

no i didnt tweak th fs2002.cfg file is there a site where i can read about tweaking fs2002cfg?Iam going to give rivatuner a try.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

All of the tweaks neccasary to clean-up the display have been posted a hundred times, Just search by the topic "blurries" or "blurry" and do some reading.I myself am tired of posting this info over and over again.Not your fault of course. :-)Take Care.Paul

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

thank you very much I read your post about tweaking fs2k cfg and that made the difference.no blurries

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hummm Paul, not all of us have the time or have been here as long as you obviously have been. I just did a search and have not found the tweak posts as of yet. What's wrong with asking the question? This is a discussion forum? If you don't want to answer the question, just move on to another thread??Anyway, I'd still be interested in the tweak info if someone isn't "Sick and tired" to post it again. ;-)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

>Hummm Paul, not all of us have the time or have been here as >long as you obviously have been. I just did a search and >have not found the tweak posts as of yet. What's wrong with >asking the question? This is a discussion forum? If you >don't want to answer the question, just move on to another >thread?? >>Anyway, I'd still be interested in the tweak info if someone >isn't "Sick and tired" to post it again. ;-) ::(: This is a problem you will encounter on EVERY forum. There's something of a love-hate relationship between "oldbies" (like myself and Elrond, to name a few (Paul, not sure how long you've been here...)). Us oldbies do get tired of reading the same old posts over and over and over again, but thankfully this forum doesn't suffer from newbie-hate syndrome nearly as bad as some of the other forums out there. To give an example: I often frequent a car forum that is of a technical nature and the response to virtually any post is "use the search button you *!@##$ newbie!". Here at avsim, however, it is extremely rare for anyone to even mention using the search function, let alone be offensive about it. I think this has a lot to do with the maturity level of most members of this forum (aside from the few "bad apples" common to every group). Anyway, I personally don't have any problems with answering a question that's been answered time and again, nor do most of the other oldbies/techno geeks that frequent this forum. Everyone has their breaking point though, and if a question has been discussed to death it can grate on one's nerves. It would be nice if more people used the search function to find the answers to their questions, especially when the topic has been answered numerous times in the past. I realize that many newbies and those who are less technically-adept don't know if a topic has already been discussed or not, but that's what the search function is there for ;)Perhaps one of the forum moderators could bring bring up some of the threads that deal with the most frequently-asked questions and make them "sticky" so they're always there for newbies to read, and even us oldbies to reference from time to time. I'm sure this would alleviate some of the frustration for us oldbies, and help out the newbies at the same time.just my two cents,Max Cowgill

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for the reply. It gets a bit frustrating to read most of the replies even when searching the archives as it seems everyone here is A+ Certified and I have no idea what the hell they are talking about most of the time. It's amazing that a 50 - 70 dollar game requires this much computer knowledge just to make it work properly. ;-)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

>Hummm Paul, not all of us have the time or have been here as >long as you obviously have been.Gee, Then I must have all of the time?>I just did a search and >have not found the tweak posts as of yet. Maybe you should try again. :) I just did a search and came up with no less than thirty replies on the subject that I have personally made in just the last few months.What's wrong with >asking the question? Nothing, I never complained to Kimo about asking the question, I complained that I am personally tired of answering it. Is that OK with you? Not that I really care. :-lolI guess the better question is: Is there something wrong with searching?You will come up with many more replies instantly, compared to waiting minutes or even hours for someone to respond to your post.This is a discussion forum? If you >Don

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Well anyway after searching I'm still confused... How exactly do you edit a Config file? Do I open it in notepad? The link posted above with the info in the config file to change was confusing. I'm not sure what to change, was it the top portion that should be changed to the bottom specs??? or vise-versa?Still confused and can't even fly FS2002 now because the blurries have gotten so bad that I can only see the airport within 10 miles now with everything else looking like a snowy TV picture??Thanks and sorry to ask again Paul ;-)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
http://www.fsgateway.com/tips_read.asp?id=395And yes use notepad to edit, I hope you kept a backup of the original? ;-)I would also download Nvmax and turn your LOD down (1.5 is a good reference point), that helps considerably, a higher Antristopy setting helps as well (crank up your TAP settings in Nvmax).Make sure your card drivers are current.This should get you going.Feel free to post in the FSVC help area, folks are a little more patient. ;-)http://fsgateway.com/images/frank.jpgwww.FSGateway.com

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thank you Frank. As you can tell I'm really new to gaming. I can put up a web site no problem, but all this computer talk just to get a game to work is frusturating (at least i'm learning though) ;-)Not sure what LOD or Antristopy is/means and I'm not sure what Nvmax is but I'll do a search for them.Thanks for the link as well, I'm going out after work and also buying some more ram (bumping my comp from 256 to 512). Hopefully this will help as well.Thanks again, I really appreciate your time.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

>http://www.fsgateway.com/tips_read.asp?id=395 >And yes use notepad to edit, I hope you kept a backup of the >original? ;-) >I would also download Nvmax and turn your LOD down (1.5 is a >good reference point), that helps considerably, a higher >Antristopy setting helps as well (crank up your TAP settings >in Nvmax).Hi Frank, I Hate to tell you, but the info in that "tip" is almost pure BS.That site recommends:[TERRAIN]TERRAIN_ERROR_FACTOR=14.110000TERRAIN_MAX_VERTEX_LEVEL=19TERRAIN_TEXTURE_SIZE_EXP=8TERRAIN_AUTOGEN_DENSITY=5TERRAIN_USE_GRADIENT_MAP=1TERRAIN_EXTENDED_TEXTURES=1TERRAIN_DEFAULT_RADIUS=60.000000TERRAIN_EXTENDED_RADIUS=40.000000TERRAIN_EXTENDED_LEVELS=4The problem is the second to laste two lines:TERRAIN_DEFAULT_RADIUS=60.000000 TERRAIN_EXTENDED_RADIUS=40.000000Values used here above 9.900000 are useless. as tested and shown here:http://ftp.avsim.com/cgi-bin/dcforum/dcboa...orum=DCForumID8There is a lot of bogus information that has been posted there, its a shame as there is also a ton of useful tips as well. :(Paul

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

jerrycwo4 I'm like a lot of you guys. I spent a ton of money trying for a really great picture (on Fs2002) , but still have the 'blurries'. I also know I seen at LEAST a dozen "fixes" posted here and it gets a little tiring having to go through all of this again for those of you who have already fixed your systems. A lot of people have posted their ideas, but recently only PaulL01 has put up PROOF with the most beautiful screenshot of Chicago I've ever seen. At present he is helping me attain a GREAT picture like his. I really thank him for going thru this again and helping me in this problem. Thanks Paul.jerry

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Well Paul if it's bogus why don't you give us your opinion on what the values should be adjusted to? For someone who is sick of this subject you sure are putting in a lot of time replying to it (but somehow not being any help).Seems like you should get off your hi-horse buddy.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi,Several other posters, I feel, have been a bit hard on Paul. He has invested a great deal of time and effort over the past few months getting to grips with the 'blurry' issue. Furthermore, his posts have often been very detailed and helpful and I am sure most will agree the content has, without question, provided the definitive explanation and guidance for those keen to resolve this issue as far as is currently possible. Moreover, the threads to which he has contributed frequently have input from many others with worthwhile and interesting views on the subject.Quite honestly, the advice to use the search facility is the best since the info is already there waiting to be read:1. Click on the 'Search' button2. Under 'Keyword(s)' type 'PaulL01' .....(That's a zero and don't type the quotation marks)3. Under 'Search which conference or forums?' select the default 'MS Flight Sim General Discussion Forum'4. Under 'Search which field(s)?' type select 'Author'5. Under 'Search how many days in the past? select '3 months'6. I don't believe that it will be necessary to search the archives as well on this issue. That will become necessary several further months down the line.You will be presented with the first page of results. The info you are looking for is, I believe, on earlier pages.Hope that helps you find what you need to know.Good luck!Mike :-wave

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

>You will be presented with the first page of results. The >info you are looking for is, I believe, on earlier pages. I hope you are right Max - the search turns up 143 threads, with an average of say 10 contributions per thread, giving around 1500 messages to read. Phew, how do I sort out the gems from the dross ? :)Here is a constructive suggestion: can the first person who finds the answer put it on the FSVC Tips and Tricks pages (link on top of this page), then others who come looking for it can simply be redirected to the Tips and Tricks list.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this